Skip to content

MoTW: Brazil

June 7, 2012

I have to disclose that I have never been capable of watching Brazil without falling asleep.  I always have to view it in two sessions.  Having said that, I still rank it as one of the most profound movies ever made.  I find the narrative considerably more relevant and prophetic than George Orwell’s 1984.

Today I was reminded of Brazil when I came across Terry Gilliam‘s plea for mercy in the censoring of Brazil at the hands of Universal Studio’s Sidney Sheinberg.

I recommend the short letter if any of you can relate to the anguish of having your work unnecessarily and ruthlessly edited or changed. I recommend the movie as an exaggerated glimpse of what is no longer the distant future, but already a small part of the present.

For years, my ex-pat friend and I have used the word “Buttle/Tuttle” like sailors use FUBAR.

4 Comments
  1. June 8, 2012 11:54 am

    It’s one of my favorite movies, and that was before I bought the criterion collection that had the real ending. However after just a few days ago of watching “Lost in La mancha”. My respect for Gilliam has diminished, he fell hard from the pedestal, and explains why he hasn’t lived up to this movie in recent works.

    Which in a way makes this movie even better, because there’s certainly not going to be another movie like this one and much less from Gilliam himself.

  2. 3Suns permalink*
    June 8, 2012 3:16 pm

    I thought his more recent The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus was brilliant, actually, and much more accessible than The Adventures of Baron Munchausen. I am not a big fan of his, so there are many movies that I haven’t seen yet, including Fear and Loathing in Vegas, but those that I have seen, have been very original and entertaining.

  3. Herandar permalink
    June 11, 2012 4:38 am

    Parnassus was good, but 12 Monkeys was sublime. I’d avoid Fear and Loathing unless you are a fan of the book, or the acid trip genre. I’ve seen all of his films but Tideland.

  4. June 11, 2012 7:59 am

    Meh. They are interesting movies, the guy is good at doing surrealism on film and will top other directors on that, but to me none reached 1/8 of what Brazil was. Especially the original cut, and I agree besides 12 monkeys, there is no other film afterwards that goes past that initial interest in the first viewing. To me he is similar to Tim Burton, they are riding on the nostalgia of their great movies, and obviously they still have a visionary mind for certain things, but that’s not what makes movies come together.

Comments are closed.

