Skip to content

Close Quarters Playing Tips

June 6, 2012

Since some of our readers are interested in the Close Quarters expansion pack, even if not Premium, I figured I would front page this.   In this feature the developers take us through their decisions on Close Quarters design, and how to best play on those maps.  Lots of great in-game footage which will give people a feel for what the pack offers.  (This is actually supposed to be Premium content, but you know, the Internet.  It may disappear at any moment.)

As an aside, the massive title update is solid.  The controls feel tighter as they took out some of the lag apparently, the suppression has been toned down in duration, and most of the shotguns have had time added to their reloading, so for that reason, with the exception of the M1014, they are not quite as dominating.  Johann and I have already paid for Premium and are half way to completing two of the assignments.  There has been talk of Premium members being kicked out of some private servers as part of the protest (I guess), but we have experienced no such treatment.  Also, as the novelty wears off, it would appear that there are more DICE/EA servers available, and many of the private renters are providing standard ticket counts.

13 Comments
  1. June 7, 2012 12:23 am

    Looking forward to getting my hands on the new maps. I picked up Premium last night. People are going ape shit on the forums with complaints about it of course – all the while cursing DICE to the high heavens even though they have nothing to do with the marketing of anything with the game. I do not regret my purchase.

    There’s few MP games I’ll put 100+ hours into. I think I’m currently at 108 hours? Regardless, I’ve spent plenty of weekends all about BF3. Only other games I can think of off the top of my head are Gears 1 and NHL. I don’t even think I broke 80 hours in BC2, but don’t quote me on that.

    • Johann Nishiki permalink
      June 7, 2012 5:32 am

      Grymm in the house! Awesome! You and I Close Quarters day 1! 😉

      The latest patch is incredible. Also, can’t wait to play the new maps. HD destruction FTW!

    • rEDChief55 permalink*
      June 7, 2012 5:32 pm

      “I don’t even think I broke 80 hours in BC2”

      – Grymm

    • June 7, 2012 7:42 pm

      trollolololol

    • 3Suns permalink*
      June 7, 2012 6:10 pm

      129h 22m 29s Grymmie. You loved that game long time.

      Of course, I loved it more than you, @ 297h 37m 16s

      And you can be my wingman any time.

    • Herandar permalink
      June 8, 2012 9:19 am

      563h 45m 48s.

      My love for BC2 is making it hard for me to love BF3. It’s just missing so much…

  2. Herandar permalink
    June 7, 2012 9:58 am

    “There has been talk of Premium members being kicked out of some private servers as part of the protest (I guess),”

    Wow, the dregs of humanity just love Battlefield, huh? People are so petty.

    I do enjoy the game somewhat, but I do not enjoy the community.

  3. June 7, 2012 1:58 pm

    I thought about getting this pack only, except they had Double weapon XP on MW3 this week, so I am getting addicted to it again. But will try out BF3 on hardcore to see if I can light the fire again. CQC would be a very big incentive to get back into it.

  4. 3Suns permalink*
    June 7, 2012 3:24 pm

    Herandar, having played several MP games for hundreds of hours each, I can, with great confidence, declare the following ranked from worst to best:

    Halo is probably the worst. It is where the name “Timmy” came from, and is the reason such excellent “mute” options were iterated into the most recent versions. It has the most quitters, which actually ruin the game as there is no drop-in, drop-out. You start a match, and immediately a teammate quits, leaving you shorthanded.

    Next would be CoD for language. You simply have to mute everyone or you will hear things you never even heard in Full Metal Jacket. With everyone muted, however, the lobby/game system is bliss.

    Gears – the executions aren’t enough. Amazingly, randoms insist on all sorts of additional corpse violation. As for actual playing the game, ever version is so broke, it can’t be enjoyed because insecure people insist on exploiting the weapons.

    BF – I have actually had many great experiences when I haven’t been running with my crew and have turned on my mic. But, there are those things above, and there is spawn camping – which DICE could fix by just adding a 30 second all bases “domination” ending.

    Valve games (TF2 and L4D). I consistently have amazing experiences with Randoms in these games. Very seldom that people are malicious, and most of the time going voice is pleasant. Best communities, hands down.

    Frenik, sounds good, and understood about the renewed addiction in MW3. Enjoy! See you when Close Quarters comes out.

    • Kenai 91 permalink
      June 7, 2012 6:10 pm

      Great list. I approve your ranking. 🙂 I also enjoyed Cod 2 & 3. I like lobbies with like minded gamers. Communication, mature dudes, no trash talking.

      BF3 Update downloaded, but I’ll probably wait on the premium, till the maps are available.

      Games the next three nights!

      BF3 and Gears 1 for me this weekend. Whoot!!

    • Herandar permalink
      June 8, 2012 9:31 am

      I thought “Timmy” was short for Timothy. And I think that communication with randoms being limited to your squad in BF means it’s hard to have overwhelmingly unpleasant games. And I have had several good encounters with randoms in BC2, including meeting many people on my friends list and two randoms I spent a lot of time playing with and actually consider friends outside of XBL.

      Don’t think I’ve played BF3 without being in a party though.

    • 3Suns permalink*
      June 8, 2012 3:09 pm

      It is, but “Timmy” became the derogatory term for any young obnoxious brat on XBL.

    • June 8, 2012 12:13 pm

      Best lobbies for me were pretty much every Tom Clancy game (Ghost Recon, Rainbow Six, Splinter Cell…) They appealed to older gamers and there was a lot less trash talking etc.

      The weird part about COD, is that it’s almost completely different if you play hardcore. However I must say that even on regular lobbies, the upside is that once you do find mature people you add them and it snowballs from there to having a new group of people with who to game with.

      I miss that when I play BF. It doesn’t lead to a big number of friend adds. Same with Halo once they made it easily available to run with parties and muting all voice comms from the menu. They fixed the obnoxious chatter but at the same time, they killed the community building aspect of it.

Comments are closed.

