Skip to content

E3 – post your favorite stuff here

June 4, 2012
tags:

Just a place holder to put in all the  E3 goodies you want to let us know about.

I still enjoy the Gears and Halo franchises, so I’ll start there.  Happy to see they’re still alive.

Actually had a great time playing Halo the other night with Luke (my 8 yr old).  He and I dominated on one particular BTB match.

I had 17 kills,  He had 13.  His favorite part (and we were laughing the whole time), was that 12 of his kills were “Splatters”.   He had a couple splatter sprees.

H4    http://www.g4tv.com/videos/58836/halo-4-e3-gameplay-video/

36 Comments
  1. Average permalink*
    June 4, 2012 12:21 pm

    • Blankman permalink*
      June 4, 2012 10:25 pm

      Wake me when it gets interesting (yawns, wipes crust from eyes, & starts snoozing again). Reserving “judgment” until I know more. See what I did there? 😉

    • June 4, 2012 11:57 pm

      Yep, snoozefest for sure. And I’ll be picking up BF3 Premium in the next few days. I’m getting too antsy to play those new maps, haha.

      And OT: GAME OF THRONES SEASON 2 IS AHHHMAAAAAAZINNNNGGGG!!!!!! That is all. And Prometheus in like 3 days? omg.

    • Blankman permalink*
      June 5, 2012 12:00 am


      Hmmm…(Peeks with one eye).

      BTW: BF3 won’t be available for the 360 or PC for another two weeks due to the PS3 timed exclusivity deal, Grymmie. For some reason, EA doesn’t want anyone to play their game: content that hasn’t come out until eight months after launch, updates that actually break gameplay, renting out servers, console gamers being treated as second class citizens, and now this bullsh!t with their “Premium” pass ($50) which essentially bitch slaps anyone that doesn’t buy into it by removing them from server priority; or is it just me?

    • June 5, 2012 1:54 am

      If you own Premium (which is out now) you can play the new maps, you just have to wait – I think it’s one week instead. However, it seems like they’re having issues with crashes and freezing on the new maps so I’ll try and wait a few days and see if it gets fixed.

    • Johann Nishiki permalink
      June 5, 2012 3:04 am

      I don’t get all the complaints about Elite and BF Premium. It is EXACTLY the same thing as the Gears 3 Season Pass. With Premium, you get a $25 discount and you get early access. (Along with extra dog tags and camos, just like the liquid metal weapon skin in Gears.) When CoD Elite was first announced, I had the same complaints, but then I realized that it is all in the hands of the consumer. You had no complaints about the Gears pass, how is Premium or Elite any different? Premium, just like the Gears season pass, is a one time fee, (no subscription) it is totally optional, and it saves us fans some money. I will start worrying once we lose the option to buy DLC the traditional way. Until then, I am very happy with how this turned out. 😀

      Premium Pricing Details here.

      Also, the server queue is not a big deal. I have only used that feature once or twice, and the server browser is easy enough to use that it is not difficult to just find another game.

    • 3Suns permalink*
      June 5, 2012 5:15 am

      Kenny, it isn’t just you. The web is aflame with outrage and threats of boycott for various reasons.

      As for the server priority, in 156 hours of play, I have used it less than 5?certainly less than 10 times, and only because we were too lazy to all jump out and back into a different room that could immediately accommodate all of us. At this point, it seems to me that the issue is overblown. Time will tell. (edit: I see Johann just added that into his comment, too – we are online at the same time lol)

      For me, another 16 massive maps for 25 USD (double dipping with Johann) is simply a no brainer, no matter what package it is marketed under, or that EA is the one benefiting. I have paid far more for far less value.

      I welcome the criticism and rants even, though. It helps keep us honest around here.

    • June 5, 2012 6:29 am

      To me the issue still is the rented servers. Buying the DLC makes no guarantee that you will find enough rooms with regular tickets and gameplay modes. Plus they are counting Back to Karkand as one of the DLC, which makes it $50 for 4 packs to whoever bought the limited edition. That’s a hefty price tag for a less frequent game for me, and more considering I don’t like the heavy vehicle pack from one of those 4.

      Now if they announce BC2 maps, that would change things for me, as I would love to play Arica Harbor or Laguna Presa on BF3.

    • June 5, 2012 7:48 pm

      Games for me are like comic books did for us when us old guys remember life, with comic book. Pick a series, Batman,
      Clark Kent…. Video games are the new true comic book. So yeah!, Halo or Grears have been bashed, I still love their “comic book” type story. The Show must go on. We actually have a story affair with Gears, so yes our comic book lives on.

  2. 3Suns permalink*
    June 4, 2012 1:10 pm

    For Kenai, Average, and The Blankman!

    • Blankman permalink*
      June 5, 2012 12:21 am

      Meh, big-time (yawns). Zzzzzz…

  3. 3Suns permalink*
    June 4, 2012 2:58 pm

    This is new. Not the leaked ad for Premium, but a video for the Close Quarters DLC.

    Not at all interested in the CoD rip-off “Gun Master” mode, but everything else looks….totally awesome!

    • Average permalink*
      June 4, 2012 4:36 pm

      Wow.

    • June 5, 2012 6:43 am

      Looks Good, and the gun game is a nice addition. They need casual game modes to balance out things. Too bad it’s the only one. I just wished they hadn’t taken so long to start pumping out the DLC, I am pretty sure that a lot of people are thinking about the fall games more than paying out for DLC at this point.

  4. June 4, 2012 4:30 pm

    I’m gonna be honest, (and it looks like I’m in the minority with this one) but the new Haylow looks terrible. 343 has pretty much taken everything that made Haylow a unique shooter and added elements that can be found in any shooter anymore. Also, David Ellis works at 343. That alone is enough for me not to like it.

    • Average permalink*
      June 4, 2012 4:34 pm

      lmao, I know what you mean, i’m still pumped for the MP.
      Story looks like it could be pretty weak however…Just now they find ancient species who are so much more evolved they built the damn galaxy and only now they are “released or found”, lame.
      I’ll say it now, I’m a hypocrite and will be buying it anyways.

    • June 4, 2012 4:48 pm

      Yea, me too probably lol. I don’t know though, it just seems like 343 is just trying to rip off of the COD formula too much with the mp.

    • June 5, 2012 6:35 am

      I’m still interested in it. But the whole “they are taking from other shooters…” thing is null at this point after Reach. I still put time on Halo 3, and even though I like how it was, I welcome every change they made in Reach, and hopefully 4 makes things different in a good way as well.

  5. 3Suns permalink*
    June 4, 2012 7:04 pm

    This deserves its own post, but for now I will just drop it here. Thanks for the heads-up, Zos!

    and this with drop in drop out co-op.

    • Blankman permalink*
      June 5, 2012 12:23 am

      Visceral just took a wrong detour with the Dead Space franchise. WTF, is this Army of Two all over again?!?

    • Average permalink*
      June 5, 2012 8:24 am

      Watch Dogs looks SICK…and it’s Ubisoft who’s Canadian. Damn do we ever make some good games!

    • Blankman permalink*
      June 5, 2012 10:49 am

      Actually, Ubisoft is a French company unless you mean the particular studio that’s developing Watch Dogs, Kyle.

    • rEDChief55 permalink*
      June 5, 2012 5:20 pm

      It may have been made in Canada, but it all (the demo at least) takes place in Chi-town.

      I could literally tell in just the first couple of seconds in the demo that it was Chicago before the audible weather update. Ubi really got the feel, architecture, weather, and sounds spot on (I think one of the cops at the end had an accent lolz). Im assuming that if they put THAT much detail into the world that the game will primarily take place here. However, if the venue moves around the world then they are really putting in a LOT of detail in each setting. Scary good detail

    • Average permalink*
      June 6, 2012 7:10 am

      Yea I meant the studio, believe it’s one of Montreals. (There are multiple)
      They have a ton of studios though worldwide, and a new one in Toronto!

  6. Blankman permalink*
    June 4, 2012 10:22 pm


    The Last of Us singlehandedly won E3 2012 for Sony. Pretenders to the throne need not apply. Naughty Dog FTMFW. Sony better thank their lucky stars that they actually own that studio.

    • June 6, 2012 6:40 am

      Wow, that looks pretty good. I’ve been looking for something that is like Fallout (for Seth and also for me), but without all the monsters / scary stuff. Almost makes me want to crossover to Sony at some point… Maybe Christmas (then I can get some Blue Ray discs in my stocking)

    • Blankman permalink*
      June 6, 2012 12:39 pm

      Jimmy, I would wait on getting a PS3 if I were you. There will be a price drop announcement very soon & The Last of Us hasn’t even received a release date yet (probably 2013). Although there are games that are worth playing on Sony’s console such as the Uncharted series, Heavy Rain, and God of War 3; those are essentially SP games. Our MP fix is on the 360. Heck, you can’t even communicate across different games on the PS3 like you can with the 360. Those of us that do have a PS3 tend to shy away from playing the console when we see our friends chatting & gaming together on the Xbox. Also, I wouldn’t bite on the PS3 Move. Do you play the Wii anymore? I rest my case.

  7. June 5, 2012 7:36 am

    If you haven’t already, watch the “Watch Dogs” gameplay Suns linked above, i have a feeling we are looking at the first “Next-Gen” console title there folks.

    • Blankman permalink*
      June 5, 2012 10:47 am

      Agreed, Zos. Watch Dogs is so ambitious that it would be a definite surprise if it’s not on the next-gen consoles. I’m glad that the Ubisoft execs greenlighted this new IP because so many studios have resorted to sequelitis.

  8. Blankman permalink*
    June 5, 2012 10:17 pm


    The reboot of Tomb Raider looks more & more like the Uncharted franchise, and that is a very good thing!

    • 3Suns permalink*
      June 5, 2012 11:28 pm

      Hey, did you ever revisit/finish Uncharted 3?

    • Blankman permalink*
      June 5, 2012 11:48 pm

      I loaned it to tehHateMachine (Mike) for the time being since I had other games on the burner. He absolutely loved it & I’ll be playing that during my summer vacation.

    • 3Suns permalink*
      June 6, 2012 4:17 am

      Hopefully, the last half is better than the first. 😀

  9. 3Suns permalink*
    June 6, 2012 5:29 pm

    Again, from Zos.

  10. June 9, 2012 2:45 pm

    Did you guys see Starwars 1313?!? That has to be a next-gen game

    • June 9, 2012 6:07 pm

      pretty sure they announced it’s being developed with UE3.

Comments are closed.

