Skip to content

Too Soon?

May 31, 2012
by

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This has completely caught me off guard. The July issue of Game Informer has a very surprising and interesting cover for a new video game. That new video game happens to be the next Gears of War! I didnt think Epic would be bringing out a new Gears game already, but with the lack of people playing Gears 3, mainly due to the sawed off and retro, I’m not as surprised as I could have been. Any thoughts on if this is Marcus handcuffed on the cover? Is it a new main character? Prequel? Lets discuss!

Click Me!

10 Comments
  1. May 31, 2012 12:28 pm

    Not really a matter of “Too Soon”, but “Should they do this?”

    I was actually happy with the way things ended in Gears 3. Happy with the DLC that let us play some prequel. I am satisfied with Gears.

    With that said, I really don’t think I’m interested in a new Gears. Let it rest.

    Make a new franchise, new story, world and characters, new game play.

    The same can be said for Halo 4.

  2. 3Suns permalink*
    May 31, 2012 1:41 pm

    OOOh, so much to talk about. Thanks for the heads-up on this, RoBBins.

    First, Halo 4. I didn’t even buy Halo Reach, though I enjoyed very much playing the gifted copy. Thank you, Blankman. I will not be buying H4. That universe and the 11-year-old gameplay is done for me. Fortunately, it will probably be well-polished, so if the gang goes all goo-goo for it, I will be able to join in via split-screen or something and still laugh and have a good time. No more Halo campaign for me, though. I can’t stomach it.

    Now, as for a new Gears? It isn’t too soon for me, not for more story in that universe. Funny, because just that one picture – is it three guys walking into a prison? – my heart is racing.

    I think that, very unexpectedly, Epic is one of the best video game-medium storytellers out there, and that includes comparisons to B:AA, ME2, Dead Space 2 and everything else that I have played or attempted to play. Epic’s pacing, and matching of story to gameplay is without flaw, at least for my tastes. Anything more is pretentious, anything less is not a game, or at least, not exciting enough to spend time at.

    Having said that, as regards VS MP which is the only reason I bought three copies, Epic actually managed to out-poor Gears 2. Total bullshit that tanked within 2 months of release. It was only Horde that was keeping it in the top 10, even after only 3 months. My blood pressure goes up just thinking about it.

    The sooner they release a new Gears game, the quicker it will drop in price and I can buy it for the Co-op MP. My only regret is that I won’t be able to play it with 4GN because not even a beta will convince me this time that Epic learned from their mistakes. Great as their campaigns are, they don’t have the longevity to merit multiple copy purchase.

    So, yes, consider me excited, but for reasons other than why I played Gears of War almost exclusively for two years. If it weren’t for the fact that there is literally no attack moves that I can make in that game without someone complaining, I would put Gears 1 back in the tray in a heart-beat. I miss it more than one should miss any inanimate object.

  3. RoBBins permalink*
    June 1, 2012 2:57 pm

    They revealed who the mystery character(s) are for the 2 different covers. Guess who?!

    http://www.gameinformer.com/b/news/archive/2012/05/31/our-august-cover-story-is-the-next-gears-of-war.aspx

    • 3Suns permalink*
      June 1, 2012 3:47 pm

      Great choices, the two fan favorites.

      The Marcus story has to remain closed, as Kenai suggested. If he must make an appearance, it needs to be as a domesticated papa, with Anya’s kids runnin’ around him being just a little more than a buffed out, veteran soldier can handle.

      I’m not really interested in a flashback story, but I guess they would have to create some pretty contrived bullshit to pick up where Gears 3 left off.

      Hmm….. I kind of agree with Kenai more now than I did a day ago. They should put their energy into The Samaritan. They have bought enough Co-op campaign cred with me now, that I will be willing to buy their next IP without any pimping necessary.

      Looks like Game Informer will be setting up an info HUB to dish out goodies over the next couple of months. Does this mean an Autumn release? Ha ha ha Wouldn’t it be crazy if Epic pulled their head out of their asses, trimmed all the shit from Gears 3 and gave us Gears 1.5 VS MP, the one we told them how to make years ago.

  4. June 2, 2012 9:04 pm

    I will probably pay $60 to have one copy, just because I enjoy the Gears universe. Not holding out much hope for mp though. It’ll be fun. We’ll play co op story again. Good times coming.

    But I’m really holding out hope for Samaritan. New story. New type of Epic mp. I hope they get it right.

    So… Where’s Blankman at a time like this. We’re talking Gears here. Blankman show yourself. Arise. Gears 4 is coming. Hell yeah. Um. Umm. good.

  5. RoBBins permalink*
    June 3, 2012 10:18 am

    Apparently theres talk over at the good ole Epic Forums that this game is going to have class based MP. If you ask me, thats a terrible idea, and from what I read, it also sounds incredibly stupid. Not really getting my hopes up for the MP. Will definitely wanna go through the campaign. In case you guys didnt know, its being developed mainly by People Can Fly (they did BulletStorm).

    • 3Suns permalink*
      June 3, 2012 2:36 pm

      Thanks for the heads-up on that RoBBins. So, that means that Epic is focusing all their energy on The Samaritan. Good news.

      P.S. We lost. Won’t be going to the national championships. Boys tried hard though, and considering the reffing and the size disparity between our mostly junior member team and the other mostly senior member teams, the other schools should be embarrassed that we pushed both games to the final buzzer.

    • June 3, 2012 5:38 pm

      Bummer to hear that Suns 😦

      And I don’t know about Epic anymore. I’ve almost lost all hope with those guys now.

  6. June 3, 2012 10:16 pm

    I wouldn’t mind more story, seeing as they really didn’t explore much in the trilogy. I think they can still put out decent games if they live within their means and don’t keep hyping their games as the “Best game in 20 years…” or any of that crap.

    I mean seriously who needs hype these days, when your game is going to be sold at half price in just a few months after release anyways?

    I’m not going to buy it day 1 at $60 to on top of that Beta test it, but further down the road, if there’s a good deal I wouldn’t mind it.

  7. June 4, 2012 10:19 am

    Gears of War: Judgement will be released next year, 2013. Epic revealed the game last week. GoW: Judgement will be a prequel to the Gears trilogy, taking place before the events of Gears 1. It is being developed by People Can Fly, the developers behind Bulletstorm.

Comments are closed.

