Skip to content

Prometheus: First Spoiler Free Review

May 30, 2012

So I just saw Prometheus. Here’s a quick, spoiler-free take on the movie, to ease your mind.

Friends, being a lucky french citizen, I was able to see Prometheus for its first showing earlier today. I’ll try to sum up my thoughts here: this movie is, in various ways, flawed. A few visual aspects of are mediocre at best (some prosthetics, make-up, even a few CGI shots), and the scripts contains some issues of its own.

Now that this is out of the way, there is one thing you have to know: those few flaws are literraly NOTHING compared to the overall quality of the movie. The photography is off the charts. Michael Fassbender is downright incredible. Theron and Rapace get their chances to shine, too.

And the music. Oh God the music. A beautifully written score, totally unexpected for this kind of movies in this day and age. Definitely helps bringing the movie to a whole new level.

Now, the horror and gruesomeness: not as brutal as I expected visually. But fuck, when Scott was talking about “philosophical horror”, he was not kidding. This goes beyond not only what I was expecting, but also what most fans have been debating in the past few months.

Concerning the Alien mythos: I don’t know what I can say without spoiling stuff, but the implications are pretty huge. We’re probably looking at the birth of a new franchise here; and if so, I’ll be dying to see what comes next.

Oh, before I send this, there’s another thing that bugged me though. The movie does a great job pleasing the Alien fans, but might seem a bit hard to approach for a more mainstream audience. But, well… worked for me 🙂.                     submitted 6 hours ago* to Reddit by NotInDenmarkAnymore

3 Comments
  1. June 7, 2012 5:32 am

    The Metacritic is giving it a 66 average right now. Seems there are ones who love it and others who hate it. Couple of the reviewers that I trust, both LOVE it.

    I’ll be waiting for some of you guys to see it and give some feedback.

  2. November 14, 2012 4:48 am

    The original Jon Spaihts Alien: Engineers script can be downloaded in PDF form, here.

    A helpful summary of the differences can be found here.

    • November 14, 2012 7:26 am

      Awesome, thanks Suns. This really helps pairing the two universes together.

Comments are closed.

