Skip to content

TFtG:Just When I Thought I Was Out…

May 23, 2012

This is a Tales from the Grave episode, an FOD recap.

The boys have grown up quite a bit since the release of Gears of War, which is when we bought our first 360.  It took them a while to learn how to “handle their booze”, so to speak, and until recently, we had to be very strict about weekday gaming.  That has changed as they have matured, and lately they have been allowed some time online even during the week.  Last night, at 7:00pm sharp, I could heard Johann and Cornie chatting cheerfully as they set up and then jumped into their respective worlds, Minecraft for Cornie and BF3 for Johann.  Cornie later showed me his awesome room, buried deep in the ground, accessible only by a long ladder from his treasure room above.  It is still burned in my memory.  Amazing how cool something can look, even with those massive pixels.

Well, there I was, lying in my bed reading and relaxing, when I heard Johann excitedly self-narrate as he played.  Apparently, he found a full RUSH room with normal tickets and all the maps.  He joined the tail end of a game of Metro and immediately got a quad kill that was so fast, the deeds weren’t even displayed on the screen – just the 700+ point indication of success.  (I really need to put a sound recorder in the room to capture the Man Cave talk.  It is hilarious.)  Within a couple of minutes he was on the top of the board, and within 15 minutes… I was playing beside him. LOL

He won that first round, and in the next we successfully defended against the enemies’ attack after losing the first two sets of MCOMS.  It wasn’t easy.  We were playing on an Asian server and the teams were almost perfectly matched.  On several occasions both of us marveled at the lack of idiots.  Remember, BF games like no other, have some of the stupidest gamers out there.  It isn’t the points-for-everything either, because these morons don’t drop their ammo, or fix your tank.  They just run around doing absolutely nothing to help your team.

Anyway, our final round started on Karkand, and as attackers we were taken down to zero tickets on the first set of bases. Yet, in one of those epic and only half-believable moments, we managed to arm and blow up their station up.   When the game was finished, Johann had received the text message: “Hacker“, which is both complimentary and a far cry nicer than “Nagasaki Bitch” which he got last weekend.  I got the elusive MCOM Defender ribbon, which upon checking, has only been earned once each by rED, Herandar, and Hollowcell.  Cornie was shouting surprise and jealousy across the room, as if I had just unwrapped Picard in a Star Trek CCG foil pack.

Kenny and I exchanged emails about the game and he mentioned that he might try to get rid of it and recoup some of his dollars.  I don’t blame him and he gets my blessing to do so.  Games are far more than the pretty pictures or machinations behind them.  They click for us or they don’t.  When Grymmie talked about his eternal burning displeasure with GoW3, I encouraged him to get the cash while he could.  rED was in the room at the time and became collateral damage.  I think before our XBL chat was finished, he was already counting his $30.  Grymmie ended up hanging on to his until the value halved (lol <3). That is OK because he was the first of us to get his money back for Stink Brink.

It is possible that I am the worst thing out there for keeping a community gaming together.   But, the way I figure it, there is no p0int in suffering.  I would rather we were all happy chatting and playing different games, than plugging our noses just to play the same game and make others happy.

Love, Peace, Blessings, and Happy Gaming.

P.S.  Zos just got Diablo 3 yesterday.  I fear for his flu recovery.

8 Comments
  1. May 23, 2012 1:06 pm

    Minecraft is so addictive. My wife and I just got done with the “Resource” phase in our world. Which was basically finding ways to gather all the possible resources, making settlements in key areas, etc. I did a big minecart tunnel that connects the world between east and west, and I am still trying to gather enough iron to connect all corners of the map. If anyone wants the mine cart achievement join in anytime. We are slowly moving into the “Mechanisms” phase. Devising traps for monsters, or making harvesting tasks automated, etc. I still have a lot to learn on how to create circuits, etc., but man it’s promising.

    My favorite part about this game is that you learn a lot by doing. You can watch videos or learn from other people, but in the end it is how you do things in a certain way, and reshape the world to how you see fit, that makes the game better.

  2. May 23, 2012 7:41 pm

    Sorry I missed you guys this past weekend. And gonna be gone this one.

    Regarding your comment Suns… Doesn’t matter if we play the same games or not, cause true love never dies. 🙂

    • 3Suns permalink*
      May 23, 2012 8:46 pm

      Word.

      (Kenny is gonna laugh at my 80’s vocab. He is all hip callin’ “Jungle Fever” – “Snow White” and shit. 😉 )

  3. May 23, 2012 10:30 pm

    Indeed. I feel bad that I’ve faded into the PC scene. But as time goes on, it gets harder and harder to coordinate game time with people. If I could play this with a keyboard/mouse, holy shit I would have never stopped on the console side. I pick it up every few weeks and splurge. Been kind of ADD with gaming of late. Doing a bit of Diablo 3. The Walking Dead Adventure game was great btw. Highly recommend it. Did a brief video review on my youtube channel.

    Thanks for the love there big guy! And also tell Zos that he needs to be careful with D3. Lots of hacking of late. Info on my blog.

    I need to just hop on Skype so we can rock out conversations as I game on PC! Love ya’ll!

  4. Herandar permalink
    June 7, 2012 10:03 am

    “I got the elusive MCOM Defender ribbon, which upon checking, has only been earned once each by rED, Herandar, and Hollowcell. Cornie was shouting surprise and jealousy across the room, as if I had just unwrapped Picard in a Star Trek CCG foil pack.”

    I’m just not that good at killing people anytime, much less while standing near the MCOM.

    Hey, do they still do the Star Trek CCG? I think I have a Picard from back when the game first came out around 1995.

    • 3Suns permalink*
      June 7, 2012 3:12 pm

      It is possible there are fans still playing the game, but without checking, I am sure that no new cards are being printed. I can’t remember if I got a Picard or not, but I collected enough of them that I probably have one.

      As for the defender ribbon, it is one of those that you either have to camp for, or have it very serendipitously fall into your lap. Mine was the latter. I don’t camp. However, lately, I have not been above lying down with my “Peach and Egg” bipod-ed, and a 200 round clip. I suppress, Johann slays.

    • Herandar permalink
      June 8, 2012 9:10 am

      Ask Kenai, I was “Pea-CHANG”ing the escalators and side stairs on Metro last night.

    • 3Suns permalink*
      June 8, 2012 3:07 pm

      Nice!

Comments are closed.

