Skip to content

Rumor Confirmed: BF3 Premium – 5 Expansion Packs

May 17, 2012

Looks like the rumor Blankman scooped has substance.

Battlefield Premium contains all 5 Battlefield expansion packs with early access, new camos, and exclusive in-game items for a one-time fee.”  (launch June 4th, 2012)    Battlefieldo

This also confirms rumors of 2 yet-unannounced expansion packs.

Before I get to my own thoughts about this particular offer, I need to address the jargon that publishers have themselves chosen to brandish as if it were magical swords that would help part us with our hard-earned dollars.

There is a difference between the Season’s Passes/Elite/Premium “subscriptions”, and real subscriptions  a la WoW.  The former are one time fees of varying amounts for content of varying substance, that doesn’t disappear when the period of time has passed.  The latter are recurring rental fees for playing in someone else’ game, a game that becomes non-accessible when payment is withheld.

It boggles the mind that any company trying to sell the former would choose to advertise their product so as to be associated with the latter.  But such is the greed, confusion, and disconnect of the corporate MBAs.  Thank you for all who provided insight in Blankman’s thread because it has made the issue crystal clear.

Hit the jump for my thoughts on Battlefield Premium.

Now, here are my thoughts on Battlefield Premium:

  • If DICE were to drop BF:BC3 this autumn, I would be all over it without even trying a beta.  Most likely I would be pre-ordering a $200 Christmas set for 4GN.
  • I only buy and play the BF games for the MP, so the fact that there is likely no campaign in the expansion packs is of little consequence to my budget or satisfaction of the game.
  • I assume Premium will be $50-60.
  • Considering that new disc releases in the BF franchise usually only contain 10 or so maps, BF Premium (5 packs @ 3-4 maps) would actually be offering at least as much content as that on a new release disc.  Yet, I should only need to buy two subscriptions for all 4GN to play.
  • The problem with buying a new game in a series is that you never know if the changes are going to actually be good, and one always runs a risk of being disappointed.  Blankman’s disappointment in the change from BF:BC2 to BF3 being an example of the phenomenon.
  • Even with some inconveniences (rental servers and weapon balance changes) I like BF3 as is, right now.  Just played and had a great time last night.  So, I know I won’t be disappointed by the gameplay that is extended through the DLC.

I still have a lot of questions, but I do know that I have no intention of discontinuing my time on the Battlefields – the ones where I can control tanks, helos, jets, and buggies, and where I can help my team just by schlepping ammo and health, and firing rounds at my enemies’ feet.

7 Comments
  1. Average permalink*
    May 18, 2012 5:23 am

    I dislike the whole subscription and expansion ideas for these games, I impulse buy them usually and get screwed.
    However, I still love me some BF so like Halo, I’d probably be justified in buying the maps.
    Speaking of which I still do not own the DLC for Halo: Reach so I’m not as big of a fanboy as is claimed 😛

    Hopefully see you boys on tonight or tomorrow, I’ll be rustier than an anchor.

    Also, Jimmy saw your invite last night was at a LAN party for some Halo with no mic. Sorry!

    • May 18, 2012 6:17 am

      I was thinking about jumping into Halo with you, but figured either someone else was using your account or you had something going on with your buddies. Games tonight!!!

    • 3Suns permalink*
      May 18, 2012 3:32 pm

      Well, like I said Average, I need more details, but the fact is that it looks like I could potentially get more content than with a new disc release, at half the price. That is just a good deal, that’s all.

  2. May 18, 2012 9:16 pm

    I’ll get this (on PC). Valid points Suns. I think these type games will go to a subscription service at some point. Honestly, I may be fine with that too so long as it’s just MP. Just depends. This is no different than Elite or the Season Pass for GoW.

  3. 3Suns permalink*
    May 20, 2012 3:08 pm

    Ty, the jury is still out. Played this weekend and the lack of officially sponsored servers with normal ticket numbers and proper map rotations, is becoming more and more problematic. Conquest has always needed a “domination clause” whereby any team that owns all flags and holds them for x number of seconds should be automatically declared the winner. That is all the more evident when the game turns into a spawn fest with 400% more tickets! It is just brutal on the winning or losing side. In this particular case, gamers have only themselves to blame. Who sets their own server to those ridiculous numbers?! Developers must rightfully think we are all idiots with lots of cash.

    I am definitely getting Close Quarters, but this weekend threw some doubt into my certainty about Premium.

  4. May 20, 2012 10:43 pm

    That’s pretty much what killed BF3 for me, which was even worst playing with a good team. You get to that point where it’s almost impossible for the other team to win, and you are just playing to pad scores or K/Ds. It’s just boring. The rentals just make that situation happen in almost every game.

    but this is not new, it’s pretty much what happens in PC gaming in general, and the only way to counter it, is to pretty much rent a server and set everything how you want it.

  5. 3Suns permalink*
    May 21, 2012 5:26 pm

    Great read on DLC and goodwill as highlighted in PAR.

    http://www.gamespot.com/features/tekken-tag-2-a-model-of-how-to-handle-dlc-6377783/

Comments are closed.

