Skip to content

Minecraft

May 14, 2012

I had a chance to try the demo, listen to others chat as they explored and tunneled in Zos’ virtual realm, and check out some of the things people are “building” in (360) Minecraft. What struck me today was the fact that, while the environment will change depending on who is “serving” it (a considerable limitation, imo), I wouldn’t mind setting up my own private digs, even in multiple realms. And then it struck me that it is what Sony’s Playstation Home should have been, or rather, that we could make it what it should have been. I have made it no secret that what I like about gaming online is you guys, and there are times when playing even my favorite game is too intense. The beauty of Minecraft is that I could “build” a house with a couch, and then just chat with y’all as I lie there sipping on a virtual martini! Cheers!

I don’t suppose I will be waiting for Minecraft to drop in price.

Click here for a fun read on the pedagogical opportunities Minecraft presents.

6 Comments
  1. May 14, 2012 9:01 am

    It’s fun. I still like Castle Miner Z a little better because you get guns and dragons and the creative mode with unlimited resources.

    but this has other stuff to do. I don’t like that you can’t join randoms. I learned a lot by joining randoms on Castle Miner Z, and how they built things, so it kind of sucks that is not as a community building game as it should, and more of a private room with friends type of thing.

  2. May 16, 2012 6:17 am

    Joined Zoso, Giggles, Red, and Frank in their Minecraft world last night. I watch my kids play it sometimes, but this was My first time IN the world of Minecraft.

    How Fun! It’s like being on vacation. I just ran around checking things out. These guys are creating a world of things they imagine. Huge glass towers. Tunnels of glass that go through the ocean. I can’t wait to come back. You guys playing tonight?

  3. 3Suns permalink*
    May 17, 2012 12:02 pm

    I can join you guys this weekend, in the land of large pixels and lava.

    • May 17, 2012 4:36 pm

      Watch out for Zos. He might assassinate you.

  4. May 19, 2012 10:35 am

    This video is very very good. I tried a variation of it, because I couldn’t remember all the details of how he built it, but it’s basically a way to harvest all the monsters in the game without losing life. The one thing is, to find lots and lots of arrows first. It might kill the gameplay a bit though, because you are no longer afraid of any of them.

    they still jump around a lot in the murder holes, so I basically just shot them in the head during day time with an arrow.

  5. May 19, 2012 10:36 am

    forgot to add the link lol: http://youtu.be/dwZwhf8U5bg

    He has a bunch of other tutorials.

Comments are closed.

