Skip to content

Geek Chat: Favorite Comic Book Movie

May 10, 2012
by

I am bringing the passionate and highly entertaining discussion into a new thread because there is so much to say, and it is great fun to read about and be reminded of excellent films.

I think I would have to say that my favorite “comic book movie” is Unbreakable with Bruce Willis and Samuel Jackson, who has done more great movies than we often give him credit for. Unbreakable is believable, well-written with arguably the best villian/hero combo in any movie, brilliantly cast, superbly acted, and utterly fresh even on repeated viewings.  Perhaps because it doesn’t technically fit the comic book source material requirement, this movie about comic book heroes and villains towers above all others for me.

A rather distant second might be Cronenberg’s A History of Violence with Viggo Mortensen. Very human, and very well done. My third favorite, based simply on the times I saw and enjoyed it in the theater or at home on DVD would have to be Iron Man and if not for the martial arts training cliche, Batman Begins. To get a little more controversial, I also really enjoyed Ang Lee’s Hulk (gasp!) because of Jennifer Connelly and the Hulk action sequences, which were the first and only in film to really demonstrate how the Hulk’s rage fuels his strength and size. Much as I like Edward Norton and enjoyed his performance in The Incredible Hulk, about the only memorable moment in that movie was Débora Nascimento’s appearance at the beginning. Seriously lousy stuff. And Liv Taylor was to Jennifer Connelly in the Hulk movies, what Maggie Gyllenhaal was to Katie Holmes in the recent Batman movies. What were the directors thinking?!

For your convenience and quick reference, there is a wikipedia page listing movies based on comic books. Please, don’t think that you spilled your guts in the previous thread.  There is so much to be said, and so many great movies to remember, and be reminded of. Share your opinions.

9 Comments
  1. Blankman permalink
    May 10, 2012 9:35 pm

    Here’s my top ten comic book flicks (in that exact order):

    1. The Dark Knight (I still stand by my opinion that Aaron Ekhardt stole the film if it wasn’t for Heath Ledger’s death)
    2. Superman II
    3. Batman Begins
    4. Blade
    5. The Crow
    6. Hellboy
    7. Iron Man
    8. Sin City
    9. Spider-Man 2
    10. 300

    BTW: I think that you only like the Hulk because of Jennifer Connelly’s scene in Career Opportunities, Mike. Nostalgia, what can I say? I bet you “Hulked out,” brutha! LMAO Stop faking the funk. 😉

    • 3Suns permalink*
      May 10, 2012 10:06 pm

      LMAO!

      Hey, first time I saw her was in Labyrinth. Next was in the Hulk. Until the other day when I went to catch up on what she had done in the interim, I had no idea she was so top heavy. What happened?

      Good list and great to see Christopher’s Superman II up there! Yes!

    • razorhanzo permalink
      May 11, 2012 10:19 am

      Those are some good choices Blank. I would definetly put The Crow at the top of my list. It is one of my favorite graphic novels of all time and I watched the hell out of it in college.

      One of my favorites, and I know lots of people are going to disagree with me, is The Watchmen. Zach Snyder pretty much went frame by frame from the comic. The visuals, acting, and effects were top-notch.

      And let’s not forget The Incredible Hulk TV series…

    • 3Suns permalink*
      May 11, 2012 2:24 pm

      I haven’t seen or read the Crow. The hooplah about Brandon Lee’s death turned its release into a circus, and I just never got around to it after that. I know what is next on my rental list!

      OT And thanks for the heads-up, rED. Not that it takes any arm twisting for me. Also, there is word on the server situation here. It is as we guessed, the private servers are so popular, EA/DICE are having to specifically reserve slots so that they can keep their own running. In other words, they are all sold out.

  2. rEDChief55 permalink*
    May 11, 2012 12:40 pm

    OT: BF3 is double XP this weekend for ranked matches

  3. May 11, 2012 6:08 pm

    Bf3 tonight?!! Yes tonight!

  4. May 11, 2012 6:09 pm

    Oh, regarding comic books… Have they made “Archie” into a movie?!

    Thought not…

    • 3Suns permalink*
      May 11, 2012 6:52 pm

      Who would play Betty and Veronica?!

  5. 3Suns permalink*
    May 12, 2012 3:40 am

    Hey, for some laughs from the real world

    Hit a Moose But Can't Remember

    Lady hit a moose, drove another 40km, but doesn’t remember the collision!

    BWAHAHAHAHAAHAHA

Comments are closed.

