Skip to content

David

April 20, 2012


I am about to burst…pun intended.

It is Friday, late afternoon. I’m going out for dinner with two friends from work. It should be fun, and tasty, with chicken, turkey, and duck on the menu.

Then, classes again tomorrow, followed by a full day of practice games with other basketball teams from all over central Honshu. The first big tournament of the year is next weekend. With the exception of a few injuries, our small crew is in pretty good shape. I spend an hour or so daily, working out with the boys before the classes start, and I’ve come down a couple of kilograms. Feeling better, and faster. I introduced the gang to work-out music. Of course, it starts with some Black Eyed Peas, but less predictably, I managed to slip in some Talking Heads, SRV, and a little OneRepublic for a feel good moment. They took to that ish like flies on preserves at a picnic.

In my downtime, I have been listening to Alexi Murdoch almost exclusively. Also, quite unexpectedly, I’ve had the good fortune to enjoy an occasional weeknight BF3 skirmish or two with 3GN. Johann has broken the average of 800 pts/minute. He and his badass brothers are my heroes. These mid-week gaming sessions have been brought to me by the letters “H” (hardwork), “S” (study), and the number 4, of course. Directed by loving wife and mother.

Speaking of gaming, in order to learn proper spacing in their zone defense, I realized that the basketball club might be well served playing a couple of hours of L4D. They need to know where each other is at all times, and they need learn to spread out and yet keep close so they can “melee” those pesky ball carriers off each other.  Regardless, I won’t be bothering to follow through on that insight. I would imagine they are just as bad at video games as I am at basketball.

Also, I am f…ing short. I don’t think my head is any closer to the net than it was when I was 12. When I shoot, my neck, MY NECK, gets sore from looking up! Seriously, I am not just short, but in basketball circles, I am handicapped – like blind, or without arms, handicapped. When I see the NBA stars holding the ball with one hand (because they can) I wanna slap them…and then let me play with a ball that I can hold with one hand, and shoot on a net that is only 3 feet above my head.  Or, better yet, put everything 5 feet above their heads and then see who can keep themselves in the zone.  Bet some games and bonuses would be lost.

Every time I walk upright and smoothly through a low door, or lie down on a mattress without having my feet dangle uncomfortably off the end, I smile.  It’s like payback.

And yet, there are those who don’t pout.

I miss you guys.

11 Comments
  1. April 20, 2012 6:00 pm

    We miss you too brotha! When is the next time you can be on!? Loved the update, keep them coming

    • 3Suns permalink*
      April 20, 2012 6:35 pm

      Zos, I hope to be on on Saturday night your time. Thanks for the love! Right back atcha.

  2. April 20, 2012 7:40 pm

    Suns, we’re long past due for a chat. Thanks for the update. Glad you’re making the most of the extra full schedule. Getting some early shut eye tonight. Hope you can make it on tomorrow as I will be charged up for late Sat night games. As always, Jim

  3. FrenkoFrenik permalink
    April 20, 2012 10:00 pm

    There’s a video in youtube about Spud still able to dunk in his 50’s.

    Sorry for not being part of the game nights in a while, I just got sucked in the MW3 world and it’s hard to play anything else, especially with Drop Zone being so much fun for me.

    This pretty much sums up my Drop Zone experience recently: OMG I am getting a tongs of kills!!! *Thud* Killed by my own package.

    I am prestige 10 now so it will probably die down in about 3-4 weeks when I get to 15. It’s not as fun when you are not unlocking new stuff all the time. I am looking forward to ME3/BF3/GOW3 when that happens.

  4. 3Suns permalink*
    April 21, 2012 3:16 pm

    Jumpin’ on now for a while. Then, I hope to jump on again later in the night.

    • April 21, 2012 5:36 pm

      Bad news for me. Internet is down. Posting from my phone. Bummer……

    • 3Suns permalink*
      April 22, 2012 1:04 pm

      Missed you, yesterday, but there shall be more chances. 🙂

  5. April 21, 2012 7:09 pm

    I’ need to catch up to ya’ll too!

  6. Blankman permalink*
    April 22, 2012 11:34 pm

    Great talking to you, Zos, & Johann with the usual suspects (rED & Grymmie) last night on XBL, Mike! We missed you guys immensely!

  7. FrenkoFrenik permalink
    April 26, 2012 11:48 am

    I ❤ All or nothing in MW3.

  8. FrenkoFrenik permalink
    April 26, 2012 1:33 pm

    grymm hasn’t front paged this?

Comments are closed.

