Skip to content

FEZ – Who’s played it?

April 11, 2012
by

Hey Gang,

I have been hearing about this game all across teh internetz the last few weeks and the reviews seem to be extraordinarily positive. Has anyone played it?

http://xboxlive.ign.com/articles/122/1222726p1.html

The sum of Fez’s intelligent level designs, perception mechanic, massive number of stages and secrets, and incredible art is so much more than just a shout-out to old-school gaming. Fez is a game in love with games. It has a respect for classic ideals and a confidence in its original ideas. Polytron draws on this to remind players why they fell in love with video games in the first place, all the while daring to make them think about the medium from a new perspective.

I am seeing “The Raid” the one day it is in theaters locally this Friday, but will get on immediately for some games this weekend. I am craving some Gears of War, BF3… a little bit of everything.

PS: Street Fighter X Tekken is essentially GOW1. Incredibly broken, yet has some of the highest highs and lowest lows. Literal jumping and cheering one round, can be head pounding and immense sobbing the next. Great/Horrible game.

8 Comments
  1. RoBBins permalink*
    April 11, 2012 10:13 pm

    Saw CliffyB talking about Fez on twitter a day or two ago. Still have yet to check it out, but it definitely has my attention and interest.

  2. 3Suns permalink*
    April 12, 2012 12:20 am

    You know, I am even more interested in the video about the creator of FEZ, and his journey to this point, than I am in the game. I don’t mean that it won’t be good. I planned on buying it as soon as I saw some of the gameplay. I looks like a cross between Paper Mario and Super Mario with some extras, and a more meaningful narrative.

    There are really a bunch of incredible Indie games being developed. Here is just one other that I can see you putting tons of time into, if released on the iOS (for crapper gaming).

    Hey, be sure to tell us about The Raid! It really is supposed to be badass.

  3. April 12, 2012 10:04 am

    I played Fez!! It was super fun and I reeeeeally want to get it.

  4. April 12, 2012 4:20 pm

    Zoso, awesome to “hear your voice”!!

    Games fo sho!

  5. 3Suns permalink*
    April 13, 2012 3:14 am

    Hopin’ to jump on Saturday night by 12am EST. Cheers!

  6. 3Suns permalink*
    April 13, 2012 5:33 am

    Here is a review without a score. 😉

    http://penny-arcade.com/report/editorial-article/fez-offers-fun-clever-puzzles-for-players…-but-there-are-darker-and-trick

  7. April 17, 2012 5:39 am

    Bought FEZ over the weekend. A Very Pleasant game. The music, visuals, lack of stress, puzzles and fun gameplay just makes me smile. I actually found my kids and I smiling while I played it for an hour or so. I’m not in a hurry to finish it. This is one of those games that I can chip away at when I feel like gaming, but not with my usual “hardcore” stuff.

  8. FrenkoFrenik permalink
    April 18, 2012 2:01 pm

    http://majornelson.com/2012/04/17/live-activity-for-week-of-april-9th/

    Fez is #1 on Arcade games

Comments are closed.

