Skip to content

On The Horizon

April 2, 2012
by

The BF3 360 patch goes live tomorrow, on the 3rd of April. Also, the creator of the USAS posted about his decisions to make it what it is (or was, as the case will soon be). Those are the latest developments in the world of BF3, but they aren’t really the purpose of this post.

I am going to be taking a leave from posting regularly and trying to keep something fresh on the front page. I have some new and interesting developments at work that require more attention (and less distraction), and there is simply no way to carve more time out of my schedule except to let go of this self-imposed responsibility. The fact is, it is an easy time to take a break because, until the announcement of the launch of the “next” generation of gaming consoles, there is very little that I need, or think about, beyond that which I already have.

I am a satisfied gamer. Gears of War 3 works well enough to play and have fun. I have waking dreams about private matches of Gears 3, like the good old days when we used to spend the entire weekend playing Gears 1. And, of course, there is never a time when I am not ready to grab a round of any gametype of Battlefield. (I curse Achievements and Ranks and Double XP for stealing private matches away from us, just as “role-playing” stole casual gamers away from BF3.)

That isn’t to say there isn’t anything to look forward to: BioShock Infinite, Borderlands, and Aliens:Colonial Marines are just a few of the AAA games waiting in the wind (and 4GN still hasn’t even played B:AC or ME3). Yet, even these fantastic games don’t have me checking websites and scouring forums. I am sure that will change when the new hardware, along with the inevitable launch titles, are officially announced, but that is probably a year off.

In the meantime, I am going to take a break. I am subscribed to our blog, and will still be checking daily. I just won’t be running ahead wavin’ the banner for a while.

I look forward to gaming with you all soon, and equally, to jumping in party chat and laughin’ and catchin’ up.

Cheers!

P.S. The next month of Fridays I won’t be on ’till late, perhaps very late. Saturdays, I should be able to get on a little earlier.

P.P.S. Here is an interesting article, chock full with even more interesting links, that was forwarded to me by a friend this morning. Be sure to watch the YouTube of the baby girl and the iPad.

10 Comments
  1. April 2, 2012 6:26 pm

    Understood Suns. You gotta do what you gotta do. After writing those few short posts recently about Bioshock, Borderlands 2, and some BF3 news, I’m going to try and contribute more post-wise. Hope to game with you soon!

    EDIT: btw, I love that picture. That’s all I will say.

  2. Herandar permalink
    April 3, 2012 5:39 am

    Mmm Kit-Kats…

    It’s about time for a 360 BF3 patch. (Long long long long long past due, actually.) I might even play BF3 this weekend. I’m also intrigued by the new private server rental, but not rich enough to play around with it.

  3. April 3, 2012 6:01 am

    This place is Home to us Stranded Gamers. I check it almost daily, and try to post something weekly.. Whatever the “domain name is”. Gearhead’s, Master’s Few, or The Stranded.

    It should not have to be “run” by one person. For my part, I will give more thought and time to posting new topics. Hopefully we can all “pitch in”.

    Good news on the BF3 patch / update.

  4. Blankman permalink*
    April 3, 2012 12:01 pm

    Thanks go out to you for leading the charge in fresh content, Mike. I’ve definitely fallen off the band wage of posting on a semi-regular basis for over six months now. I hear you when you say that there can only be so many ways you can split your time. Your assistant coaching duties on the high school basketball team is another thing that leaves you strapped for time. Just don’t think that you’re taken for granted on everything that you have & continue to do for our site. Much love, brutha!

    P.S. I was on XBL party chat with Johann when the garage door situation went down yesterday.. Very sorry to hear about yet another unplanned expense. 😦

  5. 3Suns permalink*
    April 3, 2012 4:47 pm

    Thanks for the love and support, guys! Posting and workin’ on this site has never been a burden for me. I’ve enjoyed every aspect of it thoroughly. Great to hear that it was appreciated! 😀

    I look forward to reading whatever y’all post. Really, the beauty of this blog is that anyone and everyone can subscribe, and if stopping by to an unchanged front page is disappointing, then just wait for the e-mail notification. We don’t have any other agenda here, except to keep in touch when away from the Xbox, and celebrate our amazing hobby. So, there is no pressure for anyone to write or keep things hoppin’ around here.

    And, who are we kidding, when the really big and exciting news comes in, we will all be posting like mad again. We are just on the eve of the most exciting time in a console generation.

    Cheers!

    P.S. I think the garage door can be slipped back into the guide with just a little leverage provided by some makeshift tools. Going to look into that today. Thanks, Blank!

    Update: For about 25 dollars, I fixed it, AND, the insurance company has asked for a photo and the receipt and will reimburse me for the expense! Doesn’t get any better than that!

    • April 4, 2012 5:13 am

      Go go! MacGyver! I’m sure All you needed was some duct tape, a fountain pen and of course a chewing gum wrapper. Oh! and don’t forget the paper clip…

    • Blankman permalink*
      April 4, 2012 10:19 am

      Good news, Mike! As long as MacGyver has his trusty Swiss Army knife, anything is possible! 🙂

  6. April 4, 2012 12:43 pm

    Dude I love your non-gaming posts! So even if gaming takes a back seat, I think it would still be worth passing along all the non-gaming stuff. I still read the “The Rational Optimist” book I found here, and another post led me to another book, TV discussions and such.

    • 3Suns permalink*
      April 4, 2012 3:15 pm

      @Kenai and Blanky, thanks guys. It felt pretty cool to do-it-myself. It is gravy that the insurance company is going to step up and pay for it (I have had some amazingly awful dealings with those people in Canada).

      @Frenik, glad to hear it. I always felt a little nervous posting about other stuff. Didn’t wanna drive people away. And, it is funny you should say so, because there is all sorts of stuff I come across in my prep for classes etc. Yesterday, I came across this YouTube Channel and had to hold myself back from posting about it. lol

  7. April 4, 2012 8:06 pm

    Awesome. Don’t hold back. Even if it’s like this, inside another post, it’s worth posting. Thanks!

Comments are closed.

