Skip to content

Gamer Pride

March 29, 2012

I have been absolutely swamped at work and find myself several days behind in my games blog reading, and even further behind in posting tidbits that caught my eye.  Anyway, I don’t see this busy trend changing anytime soon, so be prepared for a couple of slow weeks here at The Stranded. In the meantime, I give you this hilarious article on why it is cool to love gaming.

People often ask how wargamers justify their fascination with playing games about mass destruction. The second-best argument I’ve heard is that because this interest stems from a fascination with history, gamers are much more likely to know the context and consequences of unpleasant historical events better than most people, thus giving them a better understanding of the world and the insight to try and prevent such things in the future.

The best argument I’ve heard is who cares, because if you don’t like it, you’re free to go to hell.

That’s the answer I wish more gamers would adopt, or at least those gamers who are really concerned about games being taken seriously as mainstream entertainment. I hate both of those words. For this piece, I asked some people at work if they “take movies seriously as mainstream entertainment.” They weren’t sure what I was asking. The best answer I got was, “Uh, I watch movies all the time.” Perfect. I think at some point, gamers would love that question to be as nonsensical to people, only with the word “games” in there.

…Games are about imagination, which is why they attract introverted, contemplative people who are more likely to take comfort in a fully realized alternate world than they are to risk a lot of money on the European debt crisis. If you think that by saying that, I am making some kind of value judgment, you’re already predisposed to discount the value of imagination. You can’t support games by doing that.

Read the whole entertaining rant over at Quarter To Three (via PAR).

P.S. The news Gears maps are out and the BF3, even without the imminent patch, is ROCKING MY WORLD!

3 Comments
  1. RoBBins permalink*
    March 29, 2012 7:32 pm

    The new Gears DLC is awesome. “Aftermath” is waaayyy to big for almost every gametype besides KoTH and TDM. Also, the new weapon skins are some of the best in the game.

    • 3Suns permalink*
      March 29, 2012 11:00 pm

      Johann mentioned that about one of the maps. No surprise. It is intended for the thousands who play Horde, I am sure.

      5 nice maps for 800 points = win for me. Looking forward to seeing and playing on them. Nice to know they are awesome!

    • RoBBins permalink*
      March 30, 2012 12:32 pm

      Double XP all weekend! Perfect time to play some Gears! I just played the Raven Down 24/7 playlist for a bit and somehow got 15,000XP in one game when I finished with only 2,400 match score 0_o I’ll be on tonight after work for some MP.

Comments are closed.

