Skip to content

BF3 Expansion PackS Announced!

March 7, 2012

DICE has announced three BF3 expansion packs: Close Quarters (June), Armored Kill (autumn), and End Game (winter). From their press release:

KEY FEATURES [of Close Quarters]

  • Get plunged into frantic and relentless infantry combat
  • Check your corners as death can come from any angle
  • HD destruction lets you reduce entire locales to ruin
  • Earn new weapons and bring them back to the base game
  • Complete new assignments and equip unique dog tags
  • Play in new ways, mixing team play and instant action

Publisher: Electronic Arts Developer: DICE Formats: Playstation 3PCXbox 360
Release: June 2012 Players: 2-16 Rating: M+ / ESRB 16

The HD Destruction in Close Quarters lets players riddle the environment with bullets, reducing entire locales to ruin. Everything from furniture to plaster can be shot to pieces, and players can see the result of the mayhem as rubble and broken pieces pile up on the floor. The tight level design and many opportunities for vertical gameplay mean players will need to bring their A game if they want to stay alive in this highly competitive theater of war.

This fall will also bring the expansion pack Battlefield 3: Armored Kill. Featuring all-out vehicle warfare with new tanks, ATV’s, and mobile artillery, it also includes the biggest map in Battlefield history. Come winter, it is time for the fourth expansion pack Battlefield 3: End Game.

11 Comments
  1. March 7, 2012 11:57 am

    I think I just wet myself…..

    Yep…

    I did….

  2. Johann Nishiki permalink
    March 7, 2012 7:18 pm

    Just in time. I love how DICE is bringing a little bit of everything. CAN’T WAIT! 😀

  3. Average permalink*
    March 7, 2012 7:57 pm

    Ya this is in need, we need more levels!!! Especially the TDM levels, they are so small and only one area of a map, they could get at least 3 different TDM maps from eash of the rush maps….disappointing.

  4. March 7, 2012 9:54 pm

    Does it say if it’s free?

    • Blankman permalink*
      March 7, 2012 10:55 pm

      Free? This is EA that we’re talking about!

    • 3Suns permalink*
      March 7, 2012 11:13 pm

      Yeah, it is safe to assume that it won’t be free, and precedence suggests that it will be 1200 pts. The Vietnam Expansion pack was …totally awesome … and reasonably priced at 1200 pts (though we are always happy to see even lower prices). I sincerely hope that EA doesn’t get greedi-er and up the price. It would cause me to pause.

      While it is all in the eyes of the beholder, I have never minded paying 800 pts for Epic’s Gears Map packs. Moreover, the recent trend of 5 maps per purchase is much more appetizing than the Gears 2 days of 2 or 3 for 800.

      Activision leads the greed, selling their map packs for the same price as DICE sells their Expansion packs.

      I know that Frenik has always had a problem with premium maps, but for me, for Gears or BF games, it truly does extend the life and enjoyment of the game.

      As Kenai once said, “I BUY maps. I just do.”

    • March 8, 2012 5:20 am

      My name is Kenai, and I approve this message.

    • March 9, 2012 1:18 pm

      Well it’s not without reason you end up paying more, and meanwhile playing with less people. In the east coast hours is not a problem, but in the west coast hours when the player count falls of a cliff, it complicates things, added with the common problem in BF3 that when servers empty up they don’t get replenished as quickly, and given how hard it is to get a whole group of friends in one room this can be painful with free content and more so with paid content.

      Plus Back to Karkand, which was free, I honestly didn’t play enough or like it enough to have paid for it.

      I know it is EA, but I was hoping they would fulfill the dream they sold in Bad company 2, about getting the Limited Edition which would cover some free content. I know we got Karkand, but I was maybe hoping some of that DLC extended that promise.

  5. March 8, 2012 5:28 am

    I love expansion maps. Whether they were Halo 2, Gears 1, COD 2, BF2 or Left 4 Dead.

    They generally arrive just as we have mastered the launch maps, and starting to get bored with them. Mab, I remember how happy I was with the COD 2 maps.

    With BF3, I just wish they would start launching sooner than this summer. However, BF3 had a ton of maps (with Karkand included) right out of the box), so I can’t complain. Plus, I’m still learning the maps anyway…. Plus with all the different modes, each map feels different depending on the gametype.

    Paying for maps is legit IMO. Especially now that games have gotten so complex, requiring larger staffs. I would rather games still sell for $60 and then have them charge more for additional maps / features. The problem with expansion maps is they do split up a community because the gamers that don’t buy them are excluded.

  6. RoBBins0096 permalink*
    March 8, 2012 1:41 pm

    Good to see them still releasing content for the game. One of these days I’ll start playing it again… but then again I’m on 90k XP from hitting 100 on GoW3, so… 😉

  7. March 9, 2012 6:30 pm

    Also rumored Endgame might be a 2143 expansion…

Comments are closed.

