Skip to content

FoD Recap: MVPs and Double Ds

March 5, 2012

It was another great weekend of gaming. It started with Kenai’s call to arms, after much needed naps, and once we got going, we never looked back. Friday night, for the crew hangin’ with me, it was all about Battlefield. Every one of us in the room picked up several MVP ribbons each.  Love. That. Game.

In the meantime, RoBBins, Cornie, Johann, Blankman, and their friend Clockwork took match titles from officially competitive (aka pro) gamers. The walls of the Man Cave reverberated with their communication chatter and their war cries as they faced their fears and stood tall.

The next day, on Saturday afternoon, I had the delight of chatting with Grymm and rED about almost everything under the sun while each of us played our own games. Thanks, guys. It was exactly what I needed. Good luck with your studies rED.

Later that evening, Zos was feeling better, and he and Steph (aka “Clank”) jumped into our private party.  Within a short time, our party filled up with Zos, Clank, Blank, Johann, Cornie, Coors, Razor, and myself. We were missing the other usual suspects, but we only had two more spots open anyway, so we went old school 4v4.

 

Some of the highlights included:

  • Steph’s 10 plus kill games – she was rippin’ us new ones and laughin’ as she did so.  It was totally awesome!
  • Zos was happy. That was a highlight all by itself, simply because lately he has either been worn down by crazy work hours, or just plain sick. So. Much. Love.
  • Cornie’s ‘nades – I think he got 3 double kill grenade tosses on Escalation alone. Grymmie, you would have been proud. He summoned your spirit and if he can keep it up, will eventually earn himself his own ice cream truck to carry on the tradition of delivering 47 flavors across urban and rural Sera.
  • Blank’s consistency. He isn’t one of the triple A players, but he isn’t a Double D like me, either. He consistently brings the pain, like a brick wall in front of a line of crash test dummies. Not moved, while so many just crumple before him.
  • Watching Cornie and one other guy in an intense shotgun battle near the auditorium on Academy. I don’t even remember who won the battle, just that it was so incredible to watch from the sky cam.
  • Losing to Johann, Cornie, Coors, and Razor on Bullet Marsh. We actually were winning the match by at least two rounds, and then Johann told Coors to stick tight with the gang (he hasn’t had much community gaming with us, so he doesn’t “just know” where the rest of his crew is going to go). After that, they just rolled over us. Coors, I am really hoping you hang with us every weekend. You haven’t really played Gears until you played it with a community, weekend after weekend. That is where the crusty carbon crumbles off the diamond inside.
  • Winning a round on Bullet Marsh. In a very rare occurrence, I became the last man standing and the 59 second timer popped up on top of the screen. Johann was the last Locust for his team and I didn’t know where he was. When I got to the top of the new ramp leading to incendiary ‘nades, I swung into cover and peeked around the corner. Right there in front of me was Johann with the Boom! We were literally facing each other so close I could smell his stinking Locust breath. We both simultaneously, and in the same direction, rolled sideways, like two young girls doing cartwheels together. Right at the end of the roll I pulled the trigger and his nasty reptilian parts flew everywhere. Like Tom Arnold in True Lies, I kind of had to pat myself all over my body to make sure I was still alive. Then I let out a Whoop!
  • Playing until we had to go. Not quitting because we “can’t get that bullsh!t game out of the tray fast enough”, but because we literally had to go to a family BBQ. None of us wanted to quit, but it was late. We loved each other long time and we still respected each other and wanted to cuddle.

Things that I think were part of the success:

  • Never letting the same teams play more than 2 matches in a row.
  • Staying in party chat the whole time. It simply doesn’t allow one team to talk privately about the crazy shenanigins, and in that way, build it up beyond rescue.
  • Good map choices.

I hope we can get another private room going next weekend. Perhaps these things cannot be forced, or even planned, but it would be cool.  Signing up may help, too.

One last thing, I don’t know who was hosting each match, but I never felt egregiously ripped off even once for the entire night of gaming.

14 Comments
  1. March 5, 2012 4:10 am

    Man, I always miss these games! 😦

    • 3Suns permalink*
      March 5, 2012 9:49 am

      I know! I was like, “Numb’s on! Let’s get him in here!” And everyone was, “Nah, that is just his machine. He isn’t playing.”

    • March 5, 2012 10:09 am

      Yeah I leave my Xbox on most night boosting game types because I’m trying to get seriously 3.0. When is the next hook up? I’d love to get in on it, if no one minds…

    • 3Suns permalink*
      March 5, 2012 10:26 am

      Next Friday or Saturday night. Look for Kenai’s Welcome To The Jungle: TGIF post and sign up!

      You too, Kenny. If y’all want this thing to have maximum chance at succeeding, you gotta commit. 🙂

    • Blankman permalink*
      March 5, 2012 5:06 pm

      What are you talking about? I’m at every FoD!

    • 3Suns permalink*
      March 5, 2012 7:24 pm

      You are! And we love it and I didn’t mean it to imply otherwise, or come across as trying to manipulate. Just think of me as Steve Ballmer jumping around with big sweat rings under my arms, trying to get everyone excited. LOL 😉

      What I meant is, if it is at all possible, please sign up so that we have a confirmation and a ball park as to when we might expect you. You are the hostess with the mostess, and it is worth planning our other gaming around your arrival. 😀

      And @RoBBins below, thanks for the heads-up on that stuff. I would like to try it out. I am a little doubtful that it will be desirable, however, simply because of the location of those servers. East coast provides just as bad an experience for 4GN as Japan does for the East coasters. Let’s try it out though.

    • Blankman permalink*
      March 5, 2012 10:32 pm

      <3, brutha! 🙂

    • March 5, 2012 11:06 pm

      Awesome, I’ll be sure to sign up.

    • March 6, 2012 10:41 am

      Agreed / Blank / Suns. I think Suns comment has more to do with “When is Blankman getting on” so that we can plan When to play Gears and when to play BF3. IMO a night is not complete with a good dosage of both.

      Also, planning helps me decide “what night?” Either Friday or Saturday because lately I’m only gaming one weekend night.

  2. RoBBins0096 permalink*
    March 5, 2012 11:28 am

    I’ve been seeing things on twitter from GOWnation on how to get dedicated servers for private lobbies. If we can work that out, I’ll gladly play private.

  3. March 5, 2012 4:57 pm

    Double D’s!!! I always love our little chats, even though Xbox Live’s party system is broke ass, haha.

  4. March 6, 2012 8:45 am

    I like how Blankman yelled that MLG guy’s name every time he killed him. So much fun. Sorry I popped in on that match and left, it was time for a break after a long session, thought I would join in case someone was calling it a night, but after a bit I was the one getting tired so I left.

    • 3Suns permalink*
      March 6, 2012 2:38 pm

      It is always great to have people on stand by in the room, and we were glad to have you jump in like that and sorry to see you leave. No problem and understood, Frenik.

Comments are closed.

