Skip to content

Borderlands 2 Release Date Announced

February 22, 2012
by

Since I know there are a few others than myself that thoroughly enjoyed the first Borderlands (3GN, Kenai, HateMachine, Joey, and others that can’t pop in my head at the moment) I figured you’d enjoy knowing that the official release date for the sequel was announced just yesterday in a video that Gearbox Software posted on youtube.

As well as the release date, they show off all four of the new playable characters. Looking like they’re still based off the same class ideas from its predecessor, which I’m all about. And also that there’s a bazillion more guns than before. Enough with the jibber-jabber. Watch the full release trailer after the jump.

9 Comments
  1. February 22, 2012 12:54 pm

    Nice. Thanks for the Update. Not sure if it’s a Day 1 for me anymore, but lots of good times to be had playing Borderlands.

  2. 3Suns permalink*
    February 22, 2012 3:39 pm

    I didn’t enjoy the first game because of the incredible amount of time expected to transverse large spaces on foot. Funny, even at that, I find the tweaks to the art direction and the gameplay quite compelling. Looks great!

  3. Kenai 91 permalink*
    February 22, 2012 4:22 pm

    Funny you say that Suns because that was the main reaosn I never finished it. I would drive the buggy out to find the bad guys, then it would almost always get blown up, then I would have to hoof it back to a base to get a new one, while all along the way I’m getting assulted by ever bad ass beast trying to make me into his lunch buffet. How’s THAT for a run on sentence?!

  4. Blankman permalink*
    February 22, 2012 9:06 pm

    I loved & played the hell out of Borderlands! However, I’ll be waiting until Borderlands 2 is majorly cheap. The ONLY game on my radar is Aliens: Colonial Marines. That is a day one purchase as far as I’m concerned!

  5. February 23, 2012 4:26 am

    September? That’s a horrid date to release this. It is not a Day 1 purchase at all. The game will be $20-40 cheaper by the holidays for sure. Now if they had released earlier, on the dead summer months, it would have been better. More time to “run” around.

    I liked the first one, but I never got to finish the expansions. Mainly because like Crackdown, this is just a game that’s better when you have a buddy to chat away, and by the time the expansions were out everyone I knew moved on to other games.

    I also think it’s very hard for them to replicate the success of the first one, at the time it was a breath of fresh air. Right now looking back, I am not very eager to go back and play the first one gain. It may have gotten too big for it’s own good.

    • February 23, 2012 4:30 am

      I don’t know, man, that might just be you and a handfull of others. Everywhere I’ve seen this it’s been blowing up with tons of people stoked to play the second one. I’m even going back and starting a brand new character in the first and playing through it all over again.

    • February 23, 2012 1:20 pm

      Might be. I tried a few months ago to start a fresh character and playing the expansions, but they felt tedious after a while. Again, if one has a whole crew to play them is a whole different thing, but alone or with randoms is not the same.

      It’s like Sacred 2 and other RPGs you get sucked in for a month or two, and then it goes away and it’s hard to get back on track.

      If I still have gamefly by then I will get it for sure, or wait it out for the deals and DLC plans, etc.

  6. February 23, 2012 6:26 am

    I’ve put nine days and seventeen hours into my main character so far in the first game, and am still playing it. I am also nowhere near max level, since much of the time I was playing with lower-level friends and gaining next to no XP. I will probably pre-order this, as I really love the world.

    This game is so much better when played with friends.

  7. Average permalink*
    February 23, 2012 8:20 am

    I never played this much, the first I was boarded playing alone.
    Co-op or MMO style and I’d be more interested, or may be i’m missing something

Comments are closed.

