Skip to content

FoD Recap: Epic Weekend Edition

February 19, 2012

I had a blast playing Gears 3 and BF3 this weekend. Both games offer incredibly intense but widely diverse and yet complimentary experiences. Moreover, I think that Depths (Gears 3) and Wake Island (BF3) are two of the most beautiful maps I have ever played on. In both, I find myself having to make a conscious effort to focus on the enemy and avoid getting distracted by my surroundings.

Thanks to Blank, RoBBins, Zos, Frenik, Kenai, Coors, and Johann for the great and classic gibs gaming. Shottie kills never get old.

Also, I want to welcome Baxta and Azrael to the crew! Average, Baxta, and Azrael are incredible team players, constantly communicating and switching classes on the fly to meet the immediate needs of the team. Last night, they taught me the power of SOFLAM! Those evil, unmarked choppers that used to push us back into our spawn never seemed to survive more than a minute or two. You guys can be my wingmen anytime. 😉

Much more after the jump.

And speaking of wingmen, on Friday night, rED, Grymmie, Johann and I short-handedly stomped an almost full team in a round of rush on Seine Crossing. It was one of those never-forget sessions. On defense, rED managed to capture the enemy LAV, and that was it for the them. They didn’t have a chance. Oddly enough, after we shut them out, the rest of our team quit, and we had to go on offense down 5 players. However, we still slapped their faces, took all their candy, and walked their girlfriends home. Later, recounting the matches, I laughed so hard I couldn’t breathe. If only I could draw the images that were going through my mind. We were pushing so fast and so hard, the enemy was literally running beside us as we rushed to arm their bases. In my mind’s eye, I could see us all running with arms pumping, guns slung on our backs, looking side to side with big WTF looks on our faces. Bwaahahahahaha

One of the things I love about BF3 is that, on the rare occasions when we do lose, it is almost always because of a new tactic that the enemy used that we weren’t ready to counter. In other words, there is a constant opportunity to learn from one’s experience, and turn that knowledge into victory on the battlefield the next time we play. Case in point, a couple of weeks ago we lost a grueling match on Sharqi Peninsula. This weekend, we faced that same final MCOM station on the second floor, but this time wiser, and with slayers, smokes, and radio beacons. The end result was a smooth take-over that required only two pushes and probably only a third of our tickets. Let just say, I felt like a king and a general when we were done. I LOVE rollin’ with you guys!

Finally, I want to give Herandar (my moral compass) a big thank you for working behind the scenes to put together a comprehensive list of our crew on the BF3Stats page. Great stuff!

19 Comments
  1. Kenai 91 permalink*
    February 20, 2012 4:58 am

    Love the FoD recap! Lol at the visual of arms flapping and the sideways glance. “Wait! Oh!” as a knife gets plunged into his kidney… And Yes, I could roll with Gears and BF3 for years. Depths is one of my favorites of all time already (and we just started playing it). Thanks for the recap. More later when I get some time.

  2. RoBBins0096 permalink*
    February 20, 2012 7:09 pm

    Good times! EPIC needs to work on the shotty a little more I think. Either that or get more than 5 dedicated servers up. The gnasher seems so inconsistent all of a sudden. That Saturday night it worked some times then didnt work at all the game after. But today I played solo for a bit and I was one-shotting like crazy. Finally got my Onyx assist medal! haha Now its time to grind for the Onyx headshot medal.

    • RoBBins0096 permalink*
      February 20, 2012 7:11 pm

      Also lowered my movement speed down from 20 to 18 and my hipfire accuracy with the shotgun seems to be way better. Silly me trying to play on 20. FAIL.

    • 3Suns permalink*
      February 20, 2012 7:48 pm

      LOL

      Good for you with the Onyx! Baby!

  3. Blankman permalink*
    February 20, 2012 9:25 pm

    You had me cracking up describing the “running alongside the enemy” moment, Suns! LOL We were busy playing Gears 3 & missed out on that hilarious event.

    It was fun playing Gears 3. With slayers like RoBBins & Johann on the team, we were able to hold our own. There was only one ranked game where we were totally run over. It’s a shame that there seems to be an increase in players using modded controllers in the game. The Hammerburst was shooting lasers when these cowards used them. Firing cap my ass, Epic!

    BTW: Happy Birthday, Mike! 25 again, right? 😉

  4. 3Suns permalink*
    February 21, 2012 2:44 am

    LOL Being the youngest of three siblings, I always feel like I am not old enough. However, I will refrain from giving away my true age simply ’cause, the Internet. 😉

    I have a flex day, Wednesday, and am going to spend it showing the boys Kenneth Branagh’s Henry V.

    If we are mark’d to die, we are enough to do our country loss;
    and if to live, the fewer men, the greater share of honour.

    Such good stuff! Also, there will be cake. Two, in fact, so that we can each have a big piece!

    P.S. It is wonderful to see Mr. Miyagi again!

    Miyagi: Man who catch fly with chopstick accomplish anything.

    Daniel: Hey, what kind of belt do you have?
    Miyagi: Canvas. JC Penney, $3.98. You like? ” LOL

  5. RoBBins0096 permalink*
    February 21, 2012 10:23 am

    Happy Birthday Suns!

  6. 3Suns permalink*
    February 21, 2012 12:35 pm

    Thanks, Guys!

  7. Kenai 91 permalink*
    February 21, 2012 2:14 pm

    “Let the eat cake!”.

    Happy belated birthday!

    You gaming tonight then?!

    If so, give us a time AND our enemies will feel our vengence!

    • 3Suns permalink*
      February 21, 2012 2:33 pm

      Don’t know yet. Hope to, but even at that, we won’t be able to start until around noon JST at the earliest. No work on Saturday this week, though. If we can’t get in the same room today, for sure then. “And all shall fall”

  8. February 22, 2012 9:01 am

    Had fun this weekend. Is nice to mix and match Gears and BF3, not only because of gameplay elements but also because how differently the games are approached as a group. Gears is great as a competitive adrenaline rush, but once it gets too much barking and frustration funnel is nice to dive in to some BF3 with room to breathe and think.

    I also been enjoying MW3 on the sidelines by myself. It’s such a joy to go in a game where it is so easy to get kills, and you get so many matches done in an hour than anywhere else.

    I am happier this year, than going in last summer. We just got gamefly, so we will be playing all the new games when they are available without having to worry about what to buy, what to keep, etc.

  9. Average permalink*
    February 22, 2012 10:13 am

    Damn, Happy Belated Mike. Jimmy mentioned you’d be on last night but it was too late for me. I am positive I’m still recovering from playing til 4am Saturday night, that was too too fun.

    The stats page, how is that organized? I don’t lead on any of the actual categories, I don’t think I should be at the top of that.

    • February 23, 2012 6:31 am

      I rearranged it to be in alphabetic order when I made it public. You are leading in that category. 😉

    • Average permalink*
      February 23, 2012 7:24 am

      ahha good good, about the only thing I would lead in. Glad there’s not some mystery stat I was missin!

  10. February 22, 2012 10:23 am

    Suns! Awesome post and Happy Belated B-day! Thanks for the welcoming to the crew and I look forward to gaming with you all soon.

    Cheers!
    -bBaxta

  11. 3Suns permalink*
    February 22, 2012 12:46 pm

    I never made it on last night. We spent almost 6 hours watching Henry V (with considerable explaining and rewinding), but throughout, the boys said they were enjoying it. I had forgotten how many famous lines were taken from that play, and in some cases, in what context they were delivered. WooT!

  12. Average permalink*
    February 23, 2012 8:22 am

    For those wondering about fixes and tweaks coming to BF
    http://battlelog.battlefield.com/bf3/news/view/2832654779195992365/

    The USAS is being nerfed, more recoil, less rounds, less splash damage on FRAG rounds in general and slower rate of fire when Frags are attached.
    Jimmy, Baxter and I played a game Tuesday night where 11/12 players on the other team were running USAS, it was ridiculous.

  13. 3Suns permalink*
    February 23, 2012 1:47 pm

    Thanks for the heads-up on this, Average! Unbelievably long list of stuff they will be tweaking (gonna dig into the details when I have more time).

    Hopefully, it will be coming out sooner than later. They need to expedite this patch.

Comments are closed.

