Skip to content

Penny Arcade Justice

December 28, 2011

UPDATE: The Examiner has comprehensive up-to-the-minute coverage of the event, including content being subsequently deleted any and all parties involved. This thing really blew up!

As an example of epic PR fail, we can’t not cover this. This goes beyond the gaming hobby and will be used as a cautionary lesson in professionalism and marketing the world over.

In summary, Dave, a fella treated with particular disrespect by a PR representative of Ocean Marketing who in turn represents the Avenger controller, took his complaint to the highest court available, the Penny Arcade Hall of Justice, with the honorable Justice Gabe residing. The original story is here and updated here, with follow up comic and blog entry here. Embedded below is the resultant, historicizing YouTube and Kotaku coverage.

Warning: language NSFW, and very funny!

12 Comments
  1. December 28, 2011 3:32 pm

    I literally just read this like an hour ago haha. Was actually going to post it as well! I hope this dude’s business goes straight to shit and he files bankruptcy.

    • December 28, 2011 3:40 pm

      “I will personally burn everything I’ve made to the fucking ground if I think I can catch them [bullies] in the flames.

      -Gabe out”

      lol, I love Gabe.

    • December 28, 2011 4:08 pm

      and btw, just for lolz here’s his twitter account which is constantly being bombarded hahaha.

      https://twitter.com/#!/OceanDeepSea

  2. 3Suns permalink*
    December 28, 2011 4:42 pm

    The circles of coverage are widening.

    http://ingame.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2011/12/27/9745218-jilted-gamer-teaches-vendor-price-of-rudeness

    The first article by Kotaku on the topic is here and its title (and image) made me LAWL!

  3. 3Suns permalink*
    December 28, 2011 5:07 pm

    My favorite line from the video:

    “Go ahead, tell the Better Business Bureau. They all owe me 5 million dollars because I dumped on them, in heels.”

    Reminds me of Kenny’s story about hot lunches.

    • December 29, 2011 7:49 pm

      It severely changes the context, but I’m pretty it’s ‘dunked’, not ‘dumped’.

    • 3Suns permalink*
      December 29, 2011 9:13 pm

      ha ha Nope. I am pretty sure it is “dumped”, …and I wish I were the one who didn’t know that. 😉

    • 3Suns permalink*
      December 30, 2011 4:15 pm

      Herandar, I was told you are right. Gives me more faith in the world. Perhaps basketball is still of greater interest than fetish. 😉

  4. December 29, 2011 8:44 am

    I’ve been sucked into this story, even though I have many better thing to be doing with my time. Paul Christoforo deserves pretty much everything that has been dealt his way since this entered the public consciousness. His “apology” was the most ridiculous part of the story.

    I truly hope his career is sigificantly damaged by this. If there isn’t some sort of punitive retribution, he’ll never learn.

    • 3Suns permalink*
      December 29, 2011 2:01 pm

      I will be very surprised if legal action isn’t taken against him before this is all over. Certainly, the Avenger people could make a case against him using the Amazon review tanking alone as evidence that the gaming community has been forever turned against their product.

      More coverage from Kotaku and the Examiner’s coverage.

      And Bill Harris’ take on the matter – a good read.

    • December 29, 2011 7:46 pm

      “[Paul Christoforo] really doesn’t understand why anybody thinks he’s an idiot, and as long as that remains the case he’s going to continue hurting himself.”

      I’m sticking with ‘He’ll never learn’. And apparently he’s now holding the N-Control email and twitter accounts hostage…

  5. 3Suns permalink*
    December 30, 2011 4:42 pm

    PA also posted their site hit increase stats. Fascinating stuff.

    http://penny-arcade.com/khoo/viral

Comments are closed.

