Skip to content

The Metagame

December 20, 2011

The Meta Game Culture Edition

I was never taken in by Trivial Pursuit. How could anyone be when the average person can only get one out of every 50 questions. Similarly, I didn’t really enjoy Pictionary very much. My drawing skills are so rudimentary that my “illustrations” couldn’t even provoke insulting laughter. No “Baby Fish Mouth” ever came from my marker. My pictures were just sad.

One thing I can and love to do however, is talk. So, when I came across a post on Kotaku pimping The Metagame, I found myself spending the next hour clicking from link to link, learning as much as I could about this educator’s dream game centered around communication and debate.

The Kotaku article and video are especially helpful in understanding the game, and Local 12 provides five rule sets (pdfs free for download), including a Massively Multiplayer option for classrooms or large events.

I am a sucker for the elegant, minimalist design and colorful original illustrations, but in the interest of full disclosure I have to admit that I might not even buy it. My reason is two-fold. It is sold out and there is no indication as to how long it will be before they have a second printing. More importantly, making my own decks would be highly enjoyable and undoubtedly better tailored to entertain my family and friends.

There is also a Culture 1.0 Edition.

Comments are closed.

