Skip to content

Aliens: Colonial Marines Trailer

August 23, 2011

First, my apologies to Kenai for posting this on top of his awesome heads-up to PJ’s Hobbit Behind the Scenes vids. Be sure to check that stuff out!

As for the A:CM trailer, some of the textures and particle effects are dated, but the lighting is great and the sound and dialogue are theater quality. This game looks to be an awesome addition to the official Alien/s canon.

This trailer is apparently just an announcement of an announcement. Gamespot looks to have something coming out this Friday. As an aside, it is funny that my internal reaction to the word “Sega” appearing made me cringe, rather than excited. How the mighty have fallen! For the sake of the game they should downplay “Sega” and promote “Gearbox”.

7 Comments
  1. 3Suns permalink*
    August 23, 2011 6:14 pm

    You know, I just watched it again and it is like a scary Halo trailer. Just how frickin’ much did Bungie RIP OFF from Cameron’s Aliens!?! I am starting to get down right pissed off at them. I am being completely subjective on this point, but Halo offers some of the very worst campaign gaming I have ever experienced, and here it is like sewage reaching up from the grave to steal my enjoyment of A:CM! GTFO of my head!

  2. Blankman permalink*
    August 23, 2011 7:37 pm

    (whips out the pump-action shotgun) I keep this for close encounters. Bring this mofo on, baby!

    As in terms of Bungie borrowing liberally from Aliens, why should you be pissed off? Bungie has admitted time and time again that they used Aliens as an inspiration, even trying to duplicate the sense of stress that the film captured in game form. At that time, there was nothing remotely close to the Aliens-theme, in terms of gameplay. If Bungie didn’t do it, someone would have- and failed. At least Bungie did an adequate job defining shooters from that point on.

    • 3Suns permalink*
      August 23, 2011 8:37 pm

      First of all, I apologize to all here who love the Halo universe (and that is literally everyone here). Y’all seem to have cut your FPS teeth on that thing, and so great is your appreciation for the franchise that most of you intend on buying the remake of Halo:CE. I understand that. For me, however, with the exception of a few levels in H:CE and H:R, I found the Halo campaigns tedious with some individual levels being exemplar in bad design.

      Back in the early 2000s, I was excited by the borrowed props in the Bungie trailers because it was the closest thing I could get to the Aliens universe, and it was a form of flattery bestowed upon one of my favorite franchises. However, now that I have the genuine article, instead of reminding me of my favorite movies, it reminds me of Halo campaigns. As I watch the Aliens trailer, I am expecting these goofy looking Covenant to jump out legs spread, firing plasma rifles at me and grunts (aka Ewoks) to run around with their hands up while sticky ‘nades fly overhead – wave after wave after boring wave – none of which ever struck fear into my heart. Not so for Aliens. That shit was serious and scary – yet, thanks to the Halo games, I am lookin’ at it all casual like. I have to remind myself that Aliens are deadly and scary. I think that is why I experienced a surprise rush of disgust/anger.

      If this still doesn’t make sense, then know that I am at least not alone in my irrationality. Consider that Gabe of Penny Arcade refuses to even just try playing the Lego Star Wars games because he feels that any “Lego” treatment of that IP is an insult. He doesn’t want to tie his love for the Star Wars universe, ravaged as it is, with a cartoony Lego experience.

      UPDATE: Kenny and I chatted about this on XBL tonight and I realized that my problem is that over the past decade I have had more exposure to the Halo universe than the stuff it mimics. Hence my “confusion”.

      Also, Tyrus mentioned over at EvAv that he hopes and thinks that A:CM will have a “horde” mode. I couldn’t agree more.

    • Blankman permalink*
      August 24, 2011 10:33 am

      The Doom franchise, baby! Those are where your space marines should have come from, not Halo. 😛

  3. August 25, 2011 8:42 am

    I don’t feel any flashbacks to Halo with this trailer. It’s an entirely separate game. Halo borrowed heavily from Aliens, but this IS Aliens. To me, it feels like coming home again. Cannot wait!

    • Blankman permalink*
      August 25, 2011 9:33 am

      Thank you, Ty. I was just debating/discussing this with Suns just the other night & that was my take on it as well.

      “Has anyone ever mistaken you for a guy?”- Hudson
      “No, has anyone mistaken you?”- Vasquez

    • 3Suns permalink*
      August 25, 2011 4:05 pm

      LOL You guys!

Comments are closed.

